Microsoft Copilot Transforms Copilot Pro into Family-Oriented 365 Premium Subscription with Enhanced AI Features and Increased Cloud Storage
What happened
Between the Jul 7, 2025 and Oct 5, 2025 captures of Microsoft's pricing page, Pulse recorded 7 changes: Microsoft Defender advanced security added for personal data and device protection; Microsoft 365 Premium family subscription introduced (CAD $270/year or $27/month for up to 6 people); OneDrive ransomware protection added for photos and files; AI features restriction added - now only available to subscription owner and cannot be shared with family members; Microsoft Copilot Pro single-user subscription discontinued (CAD $27/month per user); Cloud storage increased from not specified to up to 6 TB (1 TB per person); Microsoft Copilot Pro discontinued and replaced with Microsoft 365 Premium - complete product transformation from single-user AI subscription to family productivity suite with AI features. Pulse files it as a packaging change (feature added, new plan, feature change, plan removed, limit increase, package change) with an upward direction. Pulse's latest capture (Aug 10, 2026) lists Microsoft 365 Copilot Business at $18.
Microsoft's previous recorded change was "Microsoft Copilot Removes 1-Month Free Trial Promotion for Copilot Pro Subscription" (Q2 2025). Microsoft has been tracked since 2024-11-16.
In the same window Salesforce and Adobe also changed their Business Operations pricing pages. Those moves are listed further down, and the Pulse Agent can compare them side by side.
- — · FeatureAdded
BeforeNot listed
AfterMicrosoft Defender advanced security
- — · PlanNew planNot listed6
- — · FeatureAdded
BeforeNo OneDrive ransomware protection
AfterOneDrive ransomware protection
- — · FeatureAddedNo - now only available- now only available
- — · PlanPlan removed
Microsoft Copilot Pro single-user subscription discontinued (CAD $27/month per user)
- — · LimitChangednot specifiedup to 6 TB
- AI · PackagingChanged
Beforesingle-user AI subscription
Afterfamily productivity suite
| Plan | Field | Before | After | Change |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| — | Feature | Not listed | Microsoft Defender advanced security | Added |
| — | Plan | Not listed | 6 | New plan |
| — | Feature | No OneDrive ransomware protection | OneDrive ransomware protection | Added |
| — | Feature | No - now only available | - now only available | Added |
| — | Plan | Microsoft Copilot Pro single-user subscription discontinued (CAD $27/month per user) | Plan removed | |
| — | Limit | not specified | up to 6 TB | Changed |
| AI | Packaging | single-user AI subscription | family productivity suite | Changed |
Values as written on Microsoft's public pricing page in the two captures Pulse compared; where the page states no number, the cells give the wording before and after.
Evidence
The two captures Pulse comparedFull-page captures of Microsoft's pricing page (microsoft.com) from Jul 7, 2025 and Oct 5, 2025; the change is marked near the top of the page, where Microsoft Defender advanced security now appears.
Sign in to see the evidence
The two full-page captures with this change marked up are free with an account.
Microsoft, the last 90 days
Full history- Jul 6, 2026packagingMicrosoft Copilot bundles Business Premium, Standard plans with Copilot access
- Apr 7, 2026packagingMicrosoft Copilot softens AI usage promises, tightens renewal terms
- Apr 3, 2026improvedMicrosoft Copilot adds 4K Clipchamp export, AI image tools to Premium plan
- Q3 2025improvedMicrosoft Copilot Transforms Copilot Pro into Family-Oriented 365 Premium Subscription with Enhanced AI Features and Increased Cloud Storage · this change
- Q2 2025improvedMicrosoft Copilot Removes 1-Month Free Trial Promotion for Copilot Pro Subscription
Across Business Operations in the same window
All Business Operations changes- SalesforceJan 12Salesforce Renames Data Cloud to Data 360, Signaling Major Shift in Product Strategy
- AdobeJan 10Adobe Creativecloud Introduces Firefly Pro Plan at $29.99/mo with Early Access Pricing, Amidst Multiple Price Increases for Other Plans
- SalesforceJan 12Salesforce Agentforce Restructures Flex Credits Pricing and Introduces New Agentforce User License at $5/User/Month
- SalesforceJan 12Salesforce Agentforce Launches Agentforce Voice: New AI Agent Capability for Enhanced Customer Interaction in US & Canada
- SalesforceJan 12Salesforce Agentforce Removes Free Foundations Tier, Introduces New Agentforce Add-ons and Flex Credits Plan
Questions about this change
Did Microsoft raise prices in October 2025?
No list-price increase was recorded between Jul 7, 2025 and Oct 5, 2025. The change Pulse detected was a packaging change: feature added, new plan, feature change, plan removed, limit increase, package change.
What changed on Microsoft's pricing page between Jul 7, 2025 and Oct 5, 2025?
Feature: Not listed → Microsoft Defender advanced security, added; plan: Not listed → 6; feature: No OneDrive ransomware protection → OneDrive ransomware protection, added; feature: No - now only available → - now only available, added; Microsoft Copilot Pro single-user subscription discontinued (CAD $27/month per user); limit: not specified → up to 6 TB, changed; AI packaging: single-user AI subscription → family productivity suite, changed. Pulse compared the captures it took on Jul 7, 2025 and Oct 5, 2025; the before/after table above lists each item as written on the page.
How often does Microsoft change its pricing?
Pulse recorded 1 other pricing-page change for Microsoft in the 90 days before this one; the previous change was "Microsoft Copilot Removes 1-Month Free Trial Promotion for Copilot Pro Subscription" in Q2 2025; Microsoft has been tracked since 2024-11-16.
